CD: $14.99 / Digital Album: $9.99
Cynthia Sayer’s album STRING SWING pays homage 1920s & '30s Hot Jazz and Western Swing. Sayer’s banjo, guitar and vocals are supported by a stellar band which includes renowned musicians Kenny Davern on clarinet, Barry Mitterhoff on mandolin, and Jay Leonhart on string bass. Swing, and enjoy!
  1. L-O-V-E (Kaempfert & Gabler)
  2. You (Adamson & Donaldson)
  3. More Than You Know (Rose, Eliscu & Youmans)
  4. You Turned the Tables On Me (Mitchell & Alter)
  5. April Showers (DeSylva & Silver)
  6. Because My Baby Don't Mean Maybe Know (Walter Donaldson)
  7. Tumbling Tumbleweeds (Bob Nolan)
  8. Until the Real Thing Comes Along (Holiner, Nichols, Chaplin & Freeman)
  9. Always (Irving Berlin)
  10. South of The Border (Kennedy & Carr)
  11. Rialto Ripples (George Gershwin)
  12. I've Got a Crush on You (I. Gershwin & G. Gershwin)
  13. Someday (You'll Want Me to Want You) (Jimmie Hodges)
  14. Don't Fence Me In (Cole Porter)
  15. You'll Never Know (Gordon & Warren)
To hear track samples, click here.
  • Cynthia Sayer – banjo, tenor guitar, vocals, arrangements
  • Kenny Davern – clarinet
  • Bob Mastro – violin
  • Barry Mitterhoff – mandolin
  • James Chirillo – guitar
  • Jay Leonhart – string bass
  • Joe Ascione – percussion
  • “The music is so warm, direct and swinging – it gave me so much pleasure.”

  • "Sayer plays impeccably while leading an equally polished group of musicians. She has a pleasant and appealing voice and … is the dominant force with her updated twist on an old formula."

  • "A captivating hour…. The music is toe-tapping, heartwarming, and entirely commendable. Ms Sayer shows mastery of the banjo and guitar and her sidemen support her instrumental and vocal work with imagination and subtle buoyancy."

  • "She plays banjo with a style and elegance normally not heard from past practitioners of the instrument. She also is adroit at the tenor guitar. The players who accompanied Sayer in the studio are major contributors to the pleasures this CD provides."

  • "Sayer brought all of her experience and talent to the studio to cut this fine album. It is a generous 64 minutes of just plain fun and is strongly recommended."

  • "Sayer's new CD represents her latest, and to date, most personally inspired solo project. … The eclectic blend of material, instrumentation and arrangements suggest an ongoing musical growth, not only as soloist or vocalist, but as arranger as well. As a vocalist, Cynthia exudes a warmth and joy. It certainly provides a wealth of enjoyable listening and inspiration,... and further solidifies her as a major player."
    —FIGA MAGAZINE (Fretted Instrument Guild Of America)

  • "A great collection of fifteen swingy numbers. It features some excellent single string and chord melody by Cynthia. And then, she sings! Wow. You've just sold me a music CD."

  • "In this new album, Sayer displays the ability to essay just about any musical avenue she wants to travel."

  • "Cynthia Sayer gives us a fine sampling of both her instrumental and vocal talents. She finds opportunities to make her banjo shine. An astute choice of musicians accompany her. The results surely justify the name of the album. This jazz recording is one that Cynthia Sayer has accomplished tastefully and creatively."

  • "Had there still been a need for proof that the banjo can create wonderful swing music, Cynthia Sayer provides it impressively. Here are only a few words that fit this CD: swinging, light, easy, very entertaining, extremely agreeable, very worthwhile listening!"
    —BANJO PODIUM (Germany)